LakeRidge Winery & Vineyards

In my previous blog I stated I’m not a wine connoisseur.  I enjoy light a bodied wine made from Muscadine Grapes because of the full fruit flavor.  I don’t like a tart dry like Merlot, it’s just my preference.

I received a bottle of wine, Southern Red from Lakeridge Winery & Vineyards in Clermont Fl.  A truck driver friend of mine was gracious enough to gift it me.  Upon receiving it, he told me that I should take time to really enjoy the bottle with cheese, crackers and fruit.  I thought that would be an easy tasks to accomplish, because on a quite Saturday afternoon I sip wine accompanied by cheese on the deck of my home.

I waited a few months to try the wine, I actually forgot I had it.  When I finally popped the cork on the bottle and sipped the wine I wondered what took me so long.  The first taste was unexpected, it was sweeter than anticipated.  I prefer to chill the glass rather that the beverage when I’m drinking wine.  To me a chilled glass makes the temperature of the wine perfect.  Chilling the wine alters the taste to me and it’s less enjoyable.  That may not be the correct way to drink wine but it works for me.

One of the things I found interesting was the reactions of my friends after tasting the wine.  Their reactions were pretty much the same as mine.  We all had preconceived opinions regarding red wine.  Everyone that tasted the wine asked me where I purchased it.  I quickly realized I only had 1 bottle which was quickly disappearing.Opulence Lakeridge

I researched the Lakeridge Winery & Vineyards website to find a supplier locally.  After driving and calling several of the local suppliers listed on the website, I was disappointed to find learn none of them carried the wine.  I’m usually not one of those people who are interested enough in a product to go through the trouble of ordering it online……until now!

I returned to the website and ordered several bottles of the wine and I pleased to say it was an inexpensive joy to find the box waiting on my porch.  Although I still share the wine with my friends, I do so sparingly.  I always keep a bottle tucked away just for me.  It’s truly sampling, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I do.  Let me know when you’ve sampled your first bottle, I’m certain it won’t be your last.  Cheers

Leave a Reply

